Netflix trialling new feature to calm everyone’s binge-watching anxiety

Fans of Netflix will be all too familiar with the anxiety-inducing message that occasionally pops up to ask ‘Are you still watching?’ – but the streaming giant has a solution for the binge-watchers. 

The message, which pops up when a user has been watching back to back episodes for a long time, will soon be able to be turned off by users who don’t want to be reminded that they’ve been tuned in for hours. 

Designed to ensure that viewers don’t end up several episodes ahead if they have fallen asleep while watching, the message has also been memed over and over again for ‘shaming’ viewers who have dedicated their weekends to nothing but watching TV. 

While you won’t be able to get rid of it just yet, Netflix are currently trialling a new feature which would allow users to switch it off on their account. 

A spokesperson for Netflix told The Verge that the function is still in testing mode and it is not yet know if it will be rolled out worldwide.

Users have shared the updated options that may become available, which now ask the viewer to choose between three options which are ‘Ask Again Later’, ‘Play Without Asking Again’ and ‘I’m Done’, when the message first pops up to ask if they are still watching. 

It’s not the only new function Netflix have got in the works, as they are also trialling a ‘shuffle play’ option to help viewers decide what show they want to watch next. 

A spokesperson told Variety: ‘The purpose of the test is to make it easier for members to find something to watch.’

They added that the feature would be rolled out to all users if it proved popular: ‘The hope is to absolutely productise something.

A spokesperson also told TechCrunch the new feature is to ‘help members quickly and easily find content that’s tailored to their tastes’.

Source: Read Full Article