Full list of areas of the UK that have changed coronavirus tier today

The Daily Star’s FREE newsletter is spectacular! Sign up today for the best stories straight to your inbox

As if the rules weren’t complicated enough, Health Secretary Matt Hancock has announced that several areas in England will change alert level.

When England came out of national lockdown on December 2, a new three-tier system took its place in a bid to slow the spread of coronavirus.

Regions in the country were placed in either Tier 1, which is the lowest alert level, Tier 2, which is medium, or Tier 3, the highest alert level.

The government promised it would review the tiers every two weeks based on five key factors.

On December 16 the government decided which tiers areas of the country would be placed in during Christmas.

Today, December 17, Mr Hancock has confirmed which areas have changed alert level.

London and other areas of the South East have already been changed from Tier 2 to Tier 3, after a surge in cases.

But today Mr Hancock revealed that more areas would follow suit, including large parts of Surrey, Bedfordshire and Buckinghamshire.

The changes will come into force from 12.01am on Saturday, December 19.

  • Boris Johnson tells Brits to isolate this Friday ahead of 'smaller, safer' Christmas

However, they will only be in place for four days until the Christmas bubble kicks in on December 23.

The tier system will then return on December 28, when the five-day festive bubble comes to an end.

So which tier are you in? Here is a full list of the regions and their alert levels.

The below areas will move from Tier 2 to Tier 3:

  • Bedfordshire
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Berkshire
  • Peterborough
  • Hertfordshire
  • Surrey (except for Waverley)
  • Hastings and Rother
  • Portsmouth
  • Gosport
  • Havant

The vast majority of Tier 3 areas won’t see any change.

  • Government outlines four things public should do this Christmas under Covid rules

However, Bristol and North Somerset will be moved from Tier 3 to Tier 2.

Other areas in Tier 3, including Manchester and the rest of the North East, will not move Tier.

Meanwhile, Herefordshire will join the Isle of Wight, Isles of Scilly and Cornwall in being the only places in Tier 1.

In order to check more specifically what tier your area is in you can use the government’s postcode checker, or use our checker above.

Simply enter your postcode and check what the rules are where you live.

Let us know what tier you’re in in the comments below, and if you think it’s the right decision…

  • Coronavirus
  • Lockdown

Source: Read Full Article