Queen's Birthday Honours List 2020: When are awards handed out?

EVERY year the Queen's Birthday Honours list recognise the achievements and service of people across Britain.

But when will the awards be handed out? Here is everything you'll need to know…

When are the awards handed out?

The Queen's Birthday Honours will be released on October 10.

The honours would normally have been announced in June however they were delayed until Autumn because of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Who has been given an award on Queen's Birthday Honours List 2020?

There has been some speculation around who will be awarded this year.

Top of the list is the Bake Off Legend Mary Berry.

The 85-year-old is set to be made a dame after six decades of cookery broadcasting and writing, said The Sunday Telegraph.

Actress Maureen Lipman will reportedly be recognised for her services to art and charity.

Also on the list will be a number of other famous faces, key workers and volunteers who helped the UK in the battle against coronavirus.

Here is a list of last years winners.

How are they chosen?

Anyone can nominate someone for an honour on the gov.uk website.

However, the person being nominated must be actively involved in what you are nominating them for.

Once someone is nominated, the honours committee will review the person and check they are suitable for receiving an award.

This may include checks by HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC).

Reviews are carried out by various government departments.

There are a number of different categories of awards given out, each recognising a particular service to the Queen and country.

These are:

  • Companion of Honour – for major contributions to the arts, science, medicine, or government
  • Knights/Dames – for major contributions in any activity, usually at national level
  • Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) – for prominent but lesser roles at a national level, or a leading role at regional level
  • Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) – for major roles in any activity
  • Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) –for outstanding achievements or services to the community
  • British Empire Medal (BEM) – for ‘hands-on’ services to the local community
  • Overseas Territories Police and Fire Service Medals
  • Royal Victorian Order (RVO) – usually awarded to people who have helped the Queen personally
  • The George Cross – a first level civilian medal for bravery
  • The George Medal – a second level civilian medal for bravery
  • The Queen’s Gallantry Medal – a third level civilian medal for bravery
  • The Queen’s Commendation for Bravery and The Queen’s Commendation for Bravery in the Air – awarded for risk to life

Source: Read Full Article